My WIP’s

WIP (not to be confused with those delicious yogurts, WHIPS) – stands for “Works in Progress.” Basically, it is the stories I have finished and/or am currently working on. I have two major novels that I am fairly proud of, both are Historical Fiction.

photostudio_1467200641865

The first WIP is tentatively titled, “Thursday’s Child” and is based in the Great Depression in my home state of Indiana. Not to give away the whole plot, but it is a bildungsroman that touches on abusive marriages, racism, alcoholism, religious hypocrisy, and PTSD. My grandparents lived during the Great Depression, so it was only natural for me to write about Hoosiers and my state. It was the Deep Calling Unto the Deep.

photostudio_1467140117081

The second WIP is titled, “The Judgment of Solomon” and it is based in Krakow and Auschwitz-Birkenau. It spans most of the war and some of 1946. And it is told from two perspectives: a Catholic woman and a Jewish man. Unbeknownst to them they are connected and must come to terms with their prejudices to find a way to co-exist. I have no personal connection to the Holocaust, but I did have the privilege to join Eva Mozes Kor and the CANDLES Museum on one of their annual tours of Auschwitz-Birkenau and Krakow. My trip there greatly influenced this story.

This year I have taken a break from writing novels, rather focusing on shorter pieces, but starting in 2018, I hope to take up my pen again and write another novel. We’ll see.

Until next time!

P.S. My sister Seanna Acey made these awesome promotional photos for me. Check out her blog! Thanks, sissy!

Leave a Reply

